As serious as my trade…

One of the reasons why I ended up going into journalism, apart from the whole “My course actually dissolved into two other courses and I didn’t like the other option” thing, was that I like to write.

I also planned to be working in the media in some way, just not as a journalist. Still, foot in the door and all that.

Then I left, and I took my foot with me. But still, I like the idea of writing something. So, I try and I try and, although I have blogging down to an art form (Modern art, mostly. I blog too much to be compared to something with class), writing something is hard for me to grasp. I start off okay, I have these ideas Shakespeare would have been envious of, but after the first 500 words things start to go downhill.

It’s the characters, mostly. I have a hard time sticking to a character characteristics when it’s a character i’ve invented. I’ve also tried turning one of my more successful Ye Olde Fanfictions into an original fiction, but, well, it didn’t work.

And then I lost my spark for that particular fanfiction.

I fear i’m a lost cause. And yet I can successfully blag my way out of a parking, should it happen. I think i’m an actor at heart, if I could lie and pretend to be a character, I should be able to lie about some poeple who didn’t actually exist, all the while documenting their hapless actions in life. Right? Right??

Well, it’s a start. But then, so is everything else i’ve written. Just a start, stuck somewhere between 500 and 20 thousand words. I’m very proud of the latter novel, but unfortunately I realised a plot hole and my fix up made things worse. I don’t have the heart to go back to it…

But anyway, I need to get to my point. I’m writing something. I don’t really know what, I don’t know what it’ll become, but it’s started. And to get somewhere, I need to get over a little bump I’ve found myself stuck on.

And that’s where I need anyone’s help who may be reading this, anyone who might have stumbled upon this and is reading this right now. Even if they (you) don’t know, but might know where or how to get this information.

If you have a village field that is bogland (Not bog as in swamp, but previously ruined and waterlogged ground that has remained ruined) and is unsuitable to build on, is there any way to fix it to make it suitable to build on?

I used to live in a house that was built on marsh land. The first house I remember living in was built on bogland, specifically bombed-enforced bogland and a totally different situation and experience. The marsh land the house was build on was sinking, taking the houses with it. We all joked that one day, we’d all wake up and have to leave the house via the windows. They always said that they’d end up knocking down the whole street, that there was nothing else for it.

But then one very smart chap noted that Japanese houses were build mostly on marsh land and they do ok. So, unless he’s wrong, there must be a trick to it. Is it just our work men are too lazy or short of funding for the job? Both? Something completely different?

If money and labour wasn’t a question, would there be a way to fix bogland? Is bogland and marsh land all that different? I was lead to believe it isn’t, but what do I know? I just lived on them, I didn’t learn anything about it. And you’d be amazed how much little information there is about this.

So, I would appreciate some help. A finger to point me in the right direction, at least.

It would be most appreciated.

Leave a Reply

